811E.Yellow Jacket Ln STE 113
Rockwall, TX 75087
Mon – Sun 24hrs
DUI Bail Bonds
JBond Bail Bonds
DUI Bail Bonds
Texas is notoriously tough on drunk drivers. If you fail a field sobriety test or blow too high on a breathalyzer, you will quickly find yourself behind bars awaiting a hearing. That’s when you need someone who will go to bat for you and get you out of jail as quickly as possible. JBond Bail Bonds is your best choice for fast, quality bail bond services in Rockwall, TX and all the surrounding areas.
Texas sees driving as a privilege, not a right. When you obtain a Texas driver’s license, you are giving implied consent for the state to take away that license if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated. Between the possibility of losing your license, paying expensive fines and doing time in jail, it’s easy to see why DWIs are a big deal and why you need an experienced bail bondsman to make sure you don’t waste away in jail while the state builds its case against you.
DWI checkpoints are another method police use to catch people driving under the influence. You cannot refuse to participate in a checkpoint if an officer asks you to pull over for further questioning. Driving away without answering the officers’ questions will only lead to stiff punishments.
DUI or DWI?
Many states consider these crimes to be interchangeable, but Texas actually defines them separately. A DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is a Class C misdemeanor citation given to minors (drivers under 21) who have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. That’s because it’s illegal for minors to consume alcohol. Texas takes the stance that any detectable amount is too much for underage drivers.
Penalties for DWIs (Driving While Intoxicated) depend on how many times you’ve been convicted. Your first DWI counts as a Class B misdemeanor. Your second DWI is a Class A misdemeanor. Your third DWI will carry the penalties of a third-degree felony. To be convicted of a DWI, it must be proven that your blood alcohol level was 0.08% or higher at the time if the incident.
Texas DUI Penalties
Underage drivers convicted of a DUI can expect the following penalties
- DUI with Any Detectable Amount of Alcohol – Up to a $500 fine, 60-day driver’s license suspension, 20 to 40 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol awareness classes.
- Minor DUI, First Offense – Up to a $500 fine, 30- to 180-day driver’s license suspension, 8 to 40 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol awareness classes.
- Minor DUI, Second or Third offense – Suspension of driver’s license for 60 to 180 days; age 17 or older can be fined up to $2,000 or go to jail for up to 180 days for a third offense (or both), plus automatic driver’s license suspension.
- Minor drivers over age 17 who have a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher can also face the same DWI criminal penalties as adults.
Texas DWI Penalties
- DWI, First Offense – Up to a $2,000 fine, three to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license up to a year, $1,000 annual fee for three years to retain driver’s license.
- DWI, Second Offense – Up to a $4,000 fine, five days to a year in jail, loss of driver’s license up to two years, $1,500 annual fee for three years to retain driver’s license.
- DWI, Third Offense – Up to a $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in prison, 10 to 60 days in jail if defendant receives probation, loss of driver’s license up to two years, $2,000 annual surcharge for three years to retain driver’s license.
- After two or more DWI convictions in five years, drivers must install a special breathalyzer ignition switch that prevents their vehicle from being operated if alcohol is detected on their breath.
- DWI with a Child Passenger – Up to a $10,000 fine, up to two years in a state jail, loss of driver’s license for up to two years; motorists can be charged with felony child endangerment if carrying passengers younger than 14 years old.
Call JBond for DUI and DWI Bail Bonds in Rockwall, TX
If you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI or DWI, call JBond Bail Bonds as soon as you can. We are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week so that we’re always available when you need us. If you can’t pay the whole bail amount, don’t worry!
CONTACT US TODAY AND GET A
FREE FIRST CONSULTATION