Burglary and Robbery

In Texas, burglary and robbery are considered two different crimes that both fall under the classification of theft. Ironically, you don’t have to actually steal anything to be charged with burglary. There is some overlap between the charges, but Texas law defines them as distinct crimes that must meet certain criteria.

If you get arrested for burglary or robbery, it’s important to spend your time and your one phone call wisely. Get in touch with JBond Bail Bonds to get the bail process rolling right away! Our team cares, and we always treat you and your family with dignity and respect. We know how stressful arrests can be, so we focus on getting you free and reuniting you with your loved ones. Don’t spend unnecessary time in jail where you could be victimized by prisoners or tricked into a false confession. Get JBond on your side!

Burglary in Texas

Texas law defines burglary as an action where a person enters a building or home without consent in order to commit a theft, assault or felony. No stealing is required to be charged with and convicted of burglary. You simply have to enter a structure without permission – which also opens you up to criminal trespass charges – with the intention of stealing something, assaulting someone, or committing another felony. Most burglary in Texas is a second degree felony punishable by 2 – 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Burglary is considered a state jail felony if committed in a building other than a habitation, and a first degree felony if anyone breaking into a habitation intended to commit a felony other than theft while there.

A person charged with burglary can also be charged with criminal trespass, typically a class B misdemeanor, if the person enters or remains on or in the property of another, including residential land, agricultural land, an RV park, a building, or an aircraft or other vehicle, without effective consent. The person must also have been given notice that entry was forbidden, or they must have been instructed to leave but failed to do so.

Robbery in Texas

You can be charged with robbery in Texas if you intentionally, knowingly or recklessly harm or threaten to harm someone while attempting to steal something. Unlike burglary, there has to be a theft or attempted theft for a crime to qualify as robbery. You can also face robbery charges for threatening someone verbally or intimidating them physically while attempting to rob them. No harm needs to be done to the person in order for you to be convicted of the crime. Like burglary, most robberies count as second degree felonies.

Aggravating Circumstances

Robbery can be upgraded to aggravated robbery if you used or displayed a deadly weapon during the robbery, or if the victim was aged 65 or older or was disabled. Aggravated robbery is a first degree felony in the state of Texas. This crime carries a stiffer penalty of 5 – 99 years in state prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000.

The punishments for burglary and robbery depend on the charge leveled against you. If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you might not serve any jail time at all. If you’re charged with a felony, you could spend the rest of your life in prison and be liable for thousands of dollars in fines.

Call JBond Today for Burglary or Robbery Bail Bonds

JBond Bail Bonds in Rockwall is the team you want on your side when you find yourself behind bars. We can get you out of any jail in or around the Dallas-Fort Worth area. Every minute you spend in jail is critical time you could be spending with your family or lawyer. That’s why we work hard to get you out as fast as possible!

Don’t put your job or your future in risk by wasting your time in jail. Get back to your life and put your arrest behind you by calling JBond to bail you out. We are available to help you 24/7, any day of the year, whenever you need us. Our prices are fair, and we will beat any bail bond company’s price!