Location

811E.Yellow Jacket Ln STE 113
Rockwall, TX 75087

Office Hours

Mon – Sun  24hrs

Call us Today

Call us Today

Assault and battery

JBond Bail Bonds

Assault and battery

If you’ve been arrested for assault in the State of Texas, you will more than likely end up sitting in a county jail while you wait for your court date. You could find yourself sharing a cell with dangerous people who won’t hesitate to get violent if they feel that you have disrespected them in some way. For your own safety, call JBond Bail Bonds to get you out of jail. The longer you stay behind bars, the higher your risk of being injured, being coerced into a confession, or losing your job.
Most states have laws against assault and battery, and the two acts are defined separately. Texas combines both crimes under the heading of assault. Assault charges in Texas can result from a range of circumstances, each with its own set of penalties. It’s important to understand what you’re being charged with when taken into custody, so let’s examine the laws regarding assault in Texas.

Understanding Assault in Texas

Texas defines assault as one of three things:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person.
  • Intentionally or knowingly threatening someone with bodily injury.
  • Intentionally or knowingly causing physical contact in a manner considered offensive or provocative.

Bodily injury is pretty self-explanatory. If you knowingly cause bodily harm to another person, whether it’s done intentionally or as a result of recklessness, you can be charged with assault. A simple assault causing minor injuries is usually a Class A misdemeanor with penalties of fines of up to $4000, and up to 1 year in jail.

Threats or offensive touching are usually treated as Class C misdemeanors under Texas law. A class C misdemeanor carries a penalty of fines of up to $500. For a threat to be considered a criminal assault, it must put the threatened person in reasonable fear of injury. The exceptions to this include threatening an elderly person (Class A misdemeanor) or a sports official, referee or umpire (Class B misdemeanor).

Enhanced Penalties for Assault

A simple assault turns into a third-degree felony assault if

A simple assault turns into a third-degree felony assault if:

  • It is committed against a public servant or government official
  • It is committed against a security guard or emergency services worker
  • It is committed against a family member or person with whom you have a domestic relationship, and you have a previous domestic violence or domestic assault conviction

Third-degree felonies carry a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.

Aggravated Assault

Arrests for assault are usually made after the incident has occurred. Law enforcement has a choice between citing you and presenting you with a notice to appear in court, or requesting an arrest warrant so they can take you into custody. You can be arrested for assault on the spot if officers witness you committing the act, or if the assault is part of a domestic disturbance where they feel the need to remove you from the property.

JBond Will Bail You Out

If you have been arrested for assault, rightly or wrongfully, our experienced bail bond experts will get you back your freedom. All you have to do is give us a call any time of day or night. We are always available to answer questions, explain the bonding process, and get you away from the jail and back to your loved ones.

At JBond Bail Bonds, we understand that this is a difficult time for our clients. That’s why we try to make the process as simple and easy as possible. We offer you payment plans so you can get your loved one home as soon as possible, even if you don’t have the bail money right away. We provide misdemeanor and felony bail bonds for assault and other crimes in Rockwall County and the surrounding areas. Call us when you need a way out!

CONTACT US TODAY AND GET A

FREE FIRST CONSULTATION